We need your help to repeal red light cameras!

Tallahassee Legislative Alert

January 20th, 2016

(1 ACTION ALERT IN THIS MESSAGE)

Call to action to repeal the use of red light cameras in the State of Florida

We have a chance to make the first step to repealing red light cameras! HB 4027 will be heard in the House Economic Affairs Committee at 9:00 AM this Thursday, January 21st, 2016. HB 4027 will repeal the use of traffic infraction devices, including the use of red light cameras.

We know that red light cameras are used only to increase revenue for local governments. They are not there to increase public safety. Notoriously, cities that lose money on the traffic infraction detectors invariably cancel their contracts and stop using them. It is blatantly evident that red light cameras are solely revenue generation tools at the expense of public safety.

Instead of increasing the duration of yellow lights at traffic intersections, which has proved to save lives, the Florida Department of Transportation deliberately changed the state policy to reduce yellow light intervals to below federal recommendations. This substantially increased revenue from violations while increasing the risk to public safety. To make matters worse, Red Flex Traffic Solutions corporate officers have even been arrested and convicted for bribing local government officials to support installation of red light cameras.

You can help put an end to the corruption, pay-offs and extortion surrounding the use of red light cameras.

HB 4027 will be heard this Thursday, January 21,2016 at 9:00 PM in the Economic Affairs Committee.

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the Economic Affairs Committee and tell them to support HB 4027.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full name Phone Number E-Mail
Artiles, Frank (850) 717-5118 frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov
Avila, Bryan (850) 717-5111 avila.bryan@myfloridahouse.gov
Bracy, Randolph (850) 717-5045 randolph.bracy@myfloridahouse.gov
Fitzenhagen, Heather (850) 717-5078 heather.fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov
Stevenson, Cyndi (850) 717-5017 cyndi.stevenson@myfloridahouse.gov
Geller, Joe (850) 717-5100 joe.geller@myfloridahouse.gov
Ingoglia, Blaise (850) 717-5035 blaise.ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov
Jenne, Evan (850) 717-5099 evan.jeene@myfloridahouse.gov
Magar, MaryLynn "ML" (850) 717-5082 marylynn.magar@myfloridahouse.gov
Mayfield, Debbie (850) 717-5054 debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
Narain, Edwin "Ed" (850) 717-5061 edwin.narain@myfloridahouse.gov
Oliva, Jose R. (850) 717-5110 jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov
Peters, Kathleen M. (850) 717-5069 kathleen.peters@myfloridahouse.gov
Plasencia, Rene "Coach P" (850) 717-5049 rene.plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov
Powell, Bobby (850) 717-5088 bobby.powell@myfloridahouse.gov
Rooney, Jr., Patrick Joseph (850) 717-5085 pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov
Steube, W. Gregory "Greg" (850) 717-5073 greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov
Williams, Alan B. (850) 717-5008

alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

The Liberty First Network is working hard in Tallahassee to make sure that the liberties of the citizens of Florida are being protected. We cannot continue to do this without your support. Please make a donation TODAY and help us make sure that Liberty is represented in Tallahassee. 

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2016-01-20 11:31:58 -0500
    How can we start a “Liberty First Network” in all of the States in the United States ?
Volunteer Find an Event