Two important bills will be heard in the Senate Rules Committee on Tuesday

Support SB188: Property rights are advanced when owners have the freedom to rent out their property as they so choose

Many property owners in Florida generate extra income by renting their homes to tourist vacationing in Florida. These types of rentals also help Florida’s tourism by allowing families to save money by staying together in a home instead of multiple hotel rooms. This flexibility promotes more tourism, which produces $67 billion in economic activity every year.

SB 188 prevents local governments from passing new regulations on vacation rentals based solely on their classification, while not affecting local homeowners’ associations and neighborhoods that have adopted their own covenants, declarations, or bylaws.

Local governments have exploited current rental laws with excessive fines, penalties and fees. SB 188 will safeguard property owners from overreaching local governments with state-wide standards that protect property rights.

Support SB 616: Support our right to carry firearms

SB 616 would allow concealed weapons permit-holders to carry guns in to courthouses and temporarily surrender and store the gun at a security checkpoint.

TAKE ACTION

SB 188 and SB 616 will be heard in the Senate Rules Committee on Tuesday April 25th, 2017 at 2:00 PM

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Rules Committee and tell them to support SB 188 to protect private property rights and SB 616 to protect our gun rights.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Rules

   

Lizbeth Benacquisto

Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov

850-487-5027

Perry Thurston

Thurston.Perry@flsenate.gov

850-487-5033

Lauren Book

Book.Lauren@flsenate.gov

850-487-5032

Rob Bradley

Bradley.Rob@flsenate.gov

850-487-5005

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Oscar Braynon

Braynon.Oscar@flsenate.gov

850-487-5035

Anitere Flores

Flores.Anitere@flsenate.gov

850-487-5039

Bill Galvano

Galvano.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5021

Jack Latvala

Latvala.Jack@flsenate.gov

850-487-5016

Tom Lee

Lee.Tom@flsenate.gov

850-487-5020

Bill Montford

Montford.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5003

Wilton Simpson

Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov

850-487-5010

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event