TAKE ACTION: SB 10 will put us in debt, cause job losses and not solve the problem.

SB 10 would authorize the use of bond funds to buy 60,000 acres of land to build a reservoir south of Lake Okeechobee. The plan is estimated to cost between $2.4 billion and $4 billion. Supposedly this would help solve pollution and toxic algae problems in the St. Lucie and Caloosahatchee estuaries from excess water releases from Lake Okeechobee. But scientific studies show that this will not solve the problem.

Studies have shown that the source of the excess water comes from north of Lake Okeechobee, not south of the lake.

Scientists and engineers recently reported district modeling showing storage north of the lake included in the Lake Okeechobee Watershed Planning Project will reduce the total discharge volume to the estuaries by more than 60 percent.

Studies also show that building the reservoir south of Lake Okeechobee would take farmlands out of production and put many farmers out of business.

43% of South Florida is already owned by government for conservation.

Current plans for Everglades restoration already include building storage east, west, north, and south of Lake Okeechobee on land that has already been purchased, there is just no need to purchase more land.

TAKE ACTION

SB 10 will be heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee on Wednesday April 5th, 2017 at 10:00 AM and on Thursday April 6th, 2017 at 8:00 AM.

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Appropriations Committee and tell them to oppose SB 10, buying land south of Lake Okeechobee will put us in debt and not solve the problem.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Appropriations

   

Jack Latvala

Latvala.Jack@flsenate.gov

850-487-5016

Anitere Flores

Flores.Anitere@flsenate.gov

850-487-5039

Aaron Bean

Bean.Aaron@flsenate.gov

850-487-5004

Lizbeth Benacquisto

Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov

850-487-5027

Lauren Book

Book.Lauren@flsenate.gov

850-487-5032

Randolph Bracy

Bracy.Randolph@flsenate.gov

850-487-5011

Rob Bradley

Bradley.Rob@flsenate.gov

850-487-5005

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Oscar Braynon

Braynon.Oscar@flsenate.gov

850-487-5035

George Gainer

Gainer.George@flsenate.gov

850-487-5002

Bill Galvano

Galvano.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5021

Audrey Gibson

Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov

850-487-5006

Denise Grimsley

Grimsley.Denise@flsenate.gov

850-487-5026

Bill Montford

Montford.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5003

Bobby Powell

Powell.Bobby@flsenate.gov

850-487-5030

David Simmons

Simmons.David@flsenate.gov

850-487-5009

Wilton Simpson

Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov

850-487-5010

Kelli Stargel

Stargel.Kelli@flsenate.gov

850-487-5022

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event