TAKE ACTION: Repealing Red Light Cameras starts this week!

HB 6007 which will repeal Red Light Cameras will be heard in the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on Wednesday, January 25th, 2017 at 1:00 PM.

On average, intersections in Florida using Red Light Cameras are more dangerous! A 2016 report by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shows intersections using the cameras reported:

• Total crashes UP 10.14%
• Angle crashes UP 6.72%
• Rear-end crashes UP 11.41%
• Serious injury crashes UP 26.80%
• Fatal crashes UP 100%

Studies have shown a significant reduction of crashes by just increasing the yellow light timing. But, lengthening yellow lights does not make money for the state and local governments. In fact, a House Committee report stated that increasing yellow light timing would cause a reduction in revenue, because there would be less red light infractions. I THOUGHT THAT WAS THE GOAL! Apparently not, it is all about the money.

The fact is RLCs are big money. They have pulled in millions into state coffers. It’s nearly free money for the state, as the vendor pays to install them, and local cities and counties pay to oversee them- even to the point of losing money. The state gets 52.5% of fine money for very little outlay.

2017 is the year we end the use of these unconstitutional devices in Florida but we need your help to make that happen.

TAKE ACTION

HB 6007 will be heard in the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on Wednesday, January 25th, 2017 at 1:00 PM.

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee and tell them to support HB 6007.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Last Name Phone Number E-Mail
Drake, Brad (850) 717-5005 brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov
Ingram, Clay (850) 717-5001 clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
Watson, Barbara (850) 717-5107 barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov
Daniels, Kimberly (850) 717-5014 kimberly.daniels@myfloridahouse.gov
Grant, Michael (850) 717-5075 michael.grant@myfloridahouse.gov
Jacobs, Kristin Diane (850) 717-5096 kristin.jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov
Mariano, Amber (850) 717-5036 amber.mariano@myfloridahouse.gov
Massullo, MD, Ralph E. (850) 717-5034 ralph.massullo@myfloridahouse.gov
Miller, Mike (850) 717-5047 mike.miller@myfloridahouse.gov
Newton, Sr., Wengay M. "Newt" (850) 717-5070 newt.newton@myfloridahouse.gov
Payne, Bobby (850) 717-5019 bobby.payne@myfloridahouse.gov
Toledo, Jackie (850) 717-5060 jackie.toledo@myfloridahouse.gov
Willhite, Matt (850) 717-5086 matt.willhite@myfloridahouse.gov
Williamson, Jayer (850) 717-5003 jayer.williamson@myfloridahouse.gov
Yarborough, Clay (850) 717-5012 clay.yarborough@myfloridahouse.gov

 

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event