TAKE ACTION: Protect your assets and help us stop policing for profit

HB 889 prohibits forfeiture under Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act from being final until owner of seized property is convicted of criminal act that renders property contraband article. Most Floridians are unaware that assets may be seized absent of the owner being charged with a crime and possession may be permanently transferred without a conviction.

Law enforcement agencies may confiscate any property they allege is connected to a crime. Cash, cars, real estate, boats and other possessions may be seized and forfeited to the agency without a conviction. Florida scored a pathetic D+ rating on civil asset forfeiture according to a 2010 “Policing for Profit” nationwide study by the Institute for Injustice (a non-profit national advocacy law firm).

Civil forfeiture has become a revenue generation tool used by police to fund their own coffers. James Madison wrote that “Government is instituted to protect property of every sort". The use of Asset Forfeiture flies in the face of "due process" and the protections of private property guaranteed in the Constitution.

HB 889 will be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Monday February 22nd, 2016 at 3:00 PM

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Appropriations Committee today and tell them to support HB 889.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full name Phone Number E-Mail
Albritton, Ben (850) 717-5056 ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov
Boyd, Jim (850) 717-5071 jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Clarke-Reed, Gwyndolen "Gwyn" (850) 717-5092 gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov
Corcoran, Richard (850) 717-5037 richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov
Cruz, Janet (850) 717-5062 janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov
Fresen, Erik (850) 717-5114 erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov
Hudson, Matt (850) 717-5080 matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Ingram, Clay (850) 717-5001 clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
Jones, Mia L. (850) 717-5014 mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov
McBurney, Charles (850) 717-5016 charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov
Metz, Larry (850) 717-5032 larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov
Nuñez, Jeanette M. (850) 717-5119 jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov
Oliva, Jose R. (850) 717-5110 jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov
O'Toole, H. Marlene (850) 717-5033 marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov
Pafford, Mark S. (850) 717-5086 mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Porter, Elizabeth W. (850) 717-5010 elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Rader, Kevin (850) 717-5081 kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov
Raschein, Holly (850) 717-5120 holly.raschein@myfloridahouse.gov
Richardson, David (850) 717-5113 david.richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
Roberson, Kenneth L. "Ken" (850) 717-5075 ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rouson, Darryl Ervin (850) 717-5070 darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov
Stafford, Cynthia A. (850) 717-5109 cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Steube, W. Gregory "Greg" (850) 717-5073 greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov
Williams, Alan B. (850) 717-5008 alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Wood, John (850) 717-5041 john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov
Young, Dana D. (850) 717-5060 dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov
Adkins, Janet (850) 717-5011 janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov
Moraitis, Jr., George R. (850) 717-5093 george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov

 

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

Help make sure liberty has a voice in Tallahassee. Donate to the Liberty First Network TODAY

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2016-02-22 11:09:22 -0500
    anyway this can be bulk emailed w/out using outlook?
    I thought the email I recieved at one point allowed me
    to do that – I am unfamiliar w/outlook and need a quicker
    way to bulk email – help!
Donate Volunteer Find an Event