TAKE ACTION: Help us continue the fight against Red Light Cameras

HB 6007 (repeal Red Light Cameras) will be heard in the House Government Accountability Committee Tuesday February 21st at 10:00 AM.

We are working to bring back a bill to repeal red light cameras in the Senate, it is crucial to pass HB 6007 to make this happen.

On average, intersections in Florida using Red Light Cameras are more dangerous! A 2016 report by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shows intersections using the cameras reported:

• Total crashes UP 10.14%
• Angle crashes UP 6.72%
• Rear-end crashes UP 11.41%
• Serious injury crashes UP 26.80%
• Fatal crashes UP 100%

Studies have shown a significant reduction of crashes by just increasing the yellow light timing. But, lengthening yellow lights does not make money for the state and local governments. In fact, a House Committee report stated that increasing yellow light timing would cause a reduction in revenue, because there would be less red light infractions. We THOUGHT THAT WAS THE GOAL! Apparently not, it is all about the money.

The fact is red light cameras are big money. They have pulled in millions into state coffers. 

TAKE ACTION

HB 6007 which will repeal Red Light Cameras will be heard in the House Government Accountability Committee next Tuesday February 21st at 10:00 AM.

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Government Accountability Committee and tell them to support HB 6007.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name Email Phone
Matt Caldwell Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5079
Charlie Stone Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5022
Barbara Watson Barbara.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5107
Joseph Abruzzo Joseph.Abruzzo@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5081
Ben Albritton Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5056
Colleen Burton Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5040
Neil Combee Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5039
Brad Drake Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5005
Jay Fant Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5015
Patrick Henry Patrick.Henry@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5026
Kristin Jacobs Kristin.Jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5096
Chris Latvala Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5067
Amber Mariano Amber.Mariano@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5036
Wengay Newton Newt.Newton@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5070
Cary Pigman Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5055
Scott Plakon Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5029
Holly Raschein Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5120
Daniel Raulerson Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5058
Bob Rommel Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5106
David Santiago David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5027
Carlos Smith Carlos.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5049
Clovis Watson Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5020
Matt Willhite Matt.Willhite@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5086
Jayer Williamson Jayer.Williamson@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5003

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2017-02-17 18:38:13 -0500
    Totally agree, we need to eliminate red light cameras. Just a money making scheme!!
Donate Volunteer Find an Event