TAKE ACTION: Help Support SB 240 and Give Patients a Real Choice

SB 240 Specifies that direct primary care agreement does not constitute insurance & is not subject to Florida Insurance Code. SB 240 will be heard in the Senate Health Policy Committee on Tuesday February 21st, 2017 at 12:30 PM.

SB 240 provides that a direct primary agreement and the act of entering into such an agreement is not insurance and not subject to regulation under the Florida Insurance Code and exempts a primary care provider, which includes a primary care group practice, or his or her agent, from any certification or license requirements in the Code for marketing, selling, or offering to sell an agreement.

These direct patient/doctor agreements allow a system uncontrolled by government regulations to develop. It makes doctors responsive to patients, not insurance company bureaucrats or government rule-makers. Because government bureaucrats do not like anything they can’t regulate and control, and big insurance companies do not like competition, there are attempts to define Direct Primary Care agreements as a form of insurance that would be under a mountain of regulations and bureaucratic red tape.

SB 240 would protect direct patient/doctor agreements from burdensome government regulations and represents a first step toward real healthcare freedom in Florida.

TAKE ACTION

SB 240 will be heard in the Senate Health Policy Committee on Tuesday February 21st, 2017 at 12:30 PM.

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Health Policy Committee and tell them to support SB 240 to keep government out of our healthcare decisions.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name Email Phone
Dana Young Young.Dana@flsenate.gov 850-487-5018
Kathleen Passidomo Passidomo.Kathleen@flsenate.gov 850-487-5028
Lauren Book Book.Lauren@flsenate.gov 850-487-5032
Dorothy Hukill Hukill.Dorothy@flsenate.gov 850-487-5014
Travis Hutson Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov 850-487-5007
Bill Montford Montford.Bill@flsenate.gov 850-487-5003
Bobby Powell Powell.Bobby@flsenate.gov 850-487-5030

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event