TAKE ACTION and Protect your assets and help us stop policing for profit

HB 889 prohibits forfeiture under Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act from being final until owner of seized property is convicted of criminal act that renders property contraband article. Most Floridians are unaware that assets may be seized absent of the owner being charged with a crime and possession may be permanently transferred without a conviction.

Law enforcement agencies may confiscate any property they allege is connected to a crime. Cash, cars, real estate, boats and other possessions may be seized and forfeited to the agency without a conviction. Florida scored a pathetic D+ rating on civil asset forfeiture according to a 2010 “Policing for Profit” nationwide study by the Institute for Injustice (a non-profit national advocacy law firm).

Civil forfeiture has become a revenue generation tool used by police to fund their own coffers. James Madison wrote that “Government is instituted to protect property of every sort". The use of Asset Forfeiture flies in the face of "due process" and the protections of private property guaranteed in the Constitution.

HB 889 will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee on Thursday February 25th, 2016 at 1:00 PM

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Judiciary Committee today and tell them to support HB 889.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full name Phone Number E-Mail
Burton, Colleen (850) 717-5040 colleen.burton@myfloridahouse.gov
Dudley, Dwight (850) 717-5068 dwight.dudley@myfloridahouse.gov
Edwards, Katie A. (850) 717-5098 katie.edwards@myfloridahouse.gov
Fant, Jay (850) 717-5015 jay.fant@myfloridahouse.gov
Gonzalez, Julio (850) 717-5074 julio.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
Harrell, Gayle B. (850) 717-5083 gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
Hudson, Matt (850) 717-5080 matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Kerner, Dave (850) 717-5087 dave.kerner@myfloridahouse.gov
McBurney, Charles (850) 717-5016 charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov
Metz, Larry (850) 717-5032 larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov
Moskowitz, Jared Evan (850) 717-5097 jared.moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov
Passidomo, Kathleen C. (850) 717-5106 kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov
Plakon, Scott (850) 717-5029 scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov
Rehwinkel Vasilinda, Michelle (850) 717-5009 michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov
Rodríguez, José Javier (850) 717-5112 jose.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov
Stone, Charlie (850) 717-5022 charlie.stone@myfloridahouse.gov
Trujillo, Carlos (850) 717-5105 carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov
Wood, John (850) 717-5041 john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

colleen.burton@myfloridahouse.gov;dwight.dudley@myfloridahouse.gov;katie.edwards@myfloridahouse.gov

jay.fant@myfloridahouse.gov;julio.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov;gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov

matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov;dave.kerner@myfloridahouse.gov;charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov

larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov;jared.moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov;kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov

scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov;michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov;jose.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov

charlie.stone@myfloridahouse.gov;carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov;john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov

Help make sure liberty has a voice in Tallahassee. Donate to the Liberty First Network TODAY

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event