TAKE ACTION and keep the momentum going on SB 1044 (Civil Asset Forfeiture)

Protect your assets and help us stop policing for profit. Currently your assets can be seized without an arrest or conviction.

SB 1044 prohibits forfeiture under Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act from being final until owner of seized property is convicted of criminal act that renders property contraband article. Most Floridians are unaware that assets may be seized absent of the owner being charged with a crime and possession may be permanently transferred without a conviction.

Law enforcement agencies may confiscate any property they allege is connected to a crime. Cash, cars, real estate, boats and other possessions may be seized and forfeited to the agency without a conviction. Florida scored a pathetic D+ rating on civil asset forfeiture according to a 2010 “Policing for Profit” nationwide study by the Institute for Injustice (a non-profit national advocacy law firm).

Civil forfeiture has become a revenue generation tool used by police to fund their own coffers. James Madison wrote that “Government is instituted to protect property of every sort". The use of Asset Forfeiture flies in the face of "due process" and the protections of private property guaranteed in the Constitution.

SB 1044 will be heard in the Senate Fiscal Policy Committee on Monday February 29th, 2016 at 1:00 PM.

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the Senate Fiscal Policy Committee and tell them to support SB 1044.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Abruzzo, Joseph 850-487-5025 abruzzo.joseph.web@flsenate.gov
Bean, Aaron 850-487-5004 bean.aaron.web@flsenate.gov
Bradley, Rob 850-487-5007 bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov
Clemens, Jeff 850-487-5027 clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov
Flores, Anitere 850-487-5037 flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov
Hays, Alan 850-487-5011 hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov
Hukill, Dorothy L. 850-487-5008 hukill.dorothy.web@flsenate.gov
Legg, John 850-487-5017 legg.john.web@flsenate.gov
Margolis, Gwen 850-487-5035 margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov
Sachs, Maria Lorts 850-487-5034 sachs.maria.web@flsenate.gov
Stargel, Kelli 850-487-5015 stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

abruzzo.joseph.web@flsenate.gov;bean.aaron.web@flsenate.gov;bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov

clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov;flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov;hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov

hukill.dorothy.web@flsenate.gov;legg.john.web@flsenate.gov;margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov

sachs.maria.web@flsenate.gov;stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov

Help make sure liberty has a voice in Tallahassee. Donate to the Liberty First Network TODAY

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2016-02-25 11:28:22 -0500
    Emailed Kelli Stargel and asked her to support SB 1044 as it is introduced in the Fiscal Policy Committee on Monday. She is my State Senator.
Volunteer Find an Event