Support SB 964- Stop the Insanity of Excessive Testing

Florida public school students and their parents are frustrated with never ending testing in the classrooms. Too much time is devoted to testing and not enough time to learning. SB 964 addresses the frequency and duration of testing as well as the high stakes consequences of the FSA test.

SB 964 will be heard in the Senate Education Committee on Tuesday March 21st, 2017 at 4:00 PM. 

SB 964 will eliminate the Florida Standards Assessment in grade 9, all end-of-course exams except for Algebra 1 and Biology, pushes testing back to the last two weeks of the school-year and seeks nationally recognized exams like the SAT or ACT as potential alternatives to Florida’s primary standardized test, the Florida Standards Assessment.

SB 964 also allows for pencil-and-paper testing, which could free up weeks of time in classrooms. Many schools don’t have the computers or bandwidth to test all students at once, testing schedules are currently weeks-long windows during which students rotate through testing.

TAKE ACTION

SB 964 will be heard in the Senate Education Committee on Tuesday March 21st, 2017 at 4:00 PM

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Education Committee and tell them to support SB 964, to reduce the excessive testing that is undermining learning.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Education

   

Dorothy Hukill

Hukill.Dorothy@flsenate.gov

850-487-5014

Debbie Mayfield

Mayfield.Debbie@flsenate.gov

850-487-5017

Gary Farmer

Farmer.Gary@flsenate.gov

850-487-5034

Bill Galvano

Galvano.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5021

Tom Lee

Lee.Tom@flsenate.gov

850-487-5020

David Simmons

Simmons.David@flsenate.gov

850-487-5009

Wilton Simpson

Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov

850-487-5010

Linda Stewart

Stewart.Linda@flsenate.gov

850-487-5013

Perry Thurston

Thurston.Perry@flsenate.gov

850-487-5033

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event