Support SB 188-Property rights are advanced when owners have the freedom to rent out their property as they so choose

Many property owners in Florida generate extra income by renting their homes to tourist vacationing in Florida. These types of rentals also help Florida’s tourism by allowing families to save money by staying together in a home instead of multiple hotel rooms. This flexibility promotes more tourism, which produces $67 billion in economic activity every year. 

SB 188 will be heard in the Senate Regulated Industries Committee on Tuesday March 21st, 2017 at 2:00 PM

SB 188 prevents local governments from passing new regulations on vacation rentals based solely on their classification, while not affecting local homeowners’ associations and neighborhoods that have adopted their own covenants, declarations, or bylaws.

Local governments have exploited current rental laws with excessive fines, penalties and fees. SB 188 will safeguard property owners from overreaching local governments with state-wide standards that protect property rights.

TAKE ACTION

SB 188 will be heard in the Senate Regulated Industries Committee on Tuesday March 21st, 2017 at 2:00 PM

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Regulated Industries Committee and tell them to support SB 188 and protect our property rights.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Regulated Industries

   

Travis Hutson

Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov

850-487-5007

Dorothy Hukill

Hukill.Dorothy@flsenate.gov

850-487-5014

Lizbeth Benacquisto

Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov

850-487-5027

Randolph Bracy

Bracy.Randolph@flsenate.gov

850-487-5011

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Oscar Braynon

Braynon.Oscar@flsenate.gov

850-487-5035

Audrey Gibson

Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov

850-487-5006

Keith Perry

Perry.Keith@flsenate.gov

850-487-5008

Greg Steube

Steube.Greg@flsenate.gov

850-487-5023

Perry Thurston

Thurston.Perry@flsenate.gov

850-487-5033

Dana Young

Young.Dana@flsenate.gov

850-487-5018

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2017-03-17 16:07:02 -0400
    This bill doesn’t address the fact that many cities and towns already have short term rental restrictions. It only applies to towns that are thinking about passing new laws or towns or cities that enacted laws after 2011. It does nothing about cities that have had these laws on their books for many years.
Volunteer Find an Event