Support SB 1770: End the Slush Funds for Politicians

Under Florida law, local governments can designate areas as Community Redevelopment Areas (CRA). CRA’s are funded by property taxes and are charged with helping blighted neighborhoods. While the mission of a CRA is billed as anti-poverty measures, CRAs have been used to subsidize museums, concert halls, production studios and other pet projects of local political officials. CRAs are no longer being used for anti-poverty measures, but are now slush funds to reward political donors who fund elected official’s campaigns.

In 2016, a Miami-Dade County Grand Jury reported several abuses of a local CRA.

Among the report’s findings they noted elected leaders rarely appoint civilians to boards so that, instead, elected leaders themselves can be in charge of the money.

The report showed several examples of CRA boards spending large amounts of taxpayer dollars on what appeared to be pet projects of the elected officials.

The Grand Jury stated that there is, at a minimum, a perception and appearance that certain CRA boards are controlled by the commissioner or councilman within whose district boundaries the CRA operates and under these circumstances they believe there is a significant danger of CRA funds being used as slush funds for the elected officials.

SB 1770 will place tighter restrictions on CRAs and begin a phase out period for current CRAs.

TAKE ACTION

SB 1770 will be heard in the Senate Community Affairs Committee on Wednesday March 22nd, 2017 at 1:30 PM

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Community Affairs Committee and tell them to support SB 1770

CLICK HERE FOR THE LATEST ACTION ALERT

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Community Affairs

   

Tom Lee

Lee.Tom@flsenate.gov

850-487-5020

Jeff Clemens

Clemens.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5031

Aaron Bean

Bean.Aaron@flsenate.gov

850-487-5004

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Daphne Campbell

Campbell.Daphne@flsenate.gov

850-487-5038

Keith Perry

Perry.Keith@flsenate.gov

850-487-5008

Jose Rodriguez

Rodriguez.Jose@flsenate.gov

850-487-5037

David Simmons

Simmons.David@flsenate.gov

850-487-5009

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event