Support SB236: Stop giving our taxpayer dollars to billionaire sports team owners

The state of Florida is taking our taxpayer money and handing it out to billionaire sports team owners. The Florida Legislature currently budgets monthly payments from the state of $166,667 for 30 years, for an annual payment totaling $2,000,004 to each of the nine major sports franchises like the Miami Dolphins.

In 2014, the Florida legislature decided to give sports team owners even more of taxpayer money by making available funding for privately owned stadiums to build or renovate sporting centers. Teams would apply to the state’s Department of Economic Opportunity for sales tax rebate funding. The money can be used for “constructing, reconstructing, renovating, or improving a facility or reimbursing such costs.

Economists consistently find that stadium construction subsidies fail to generate much, if any, "economic impact" in local markets in terms of metro-area wide employment and income. Sports subsidies are poor uses of taxpayer money.

SB 236 will repeal the 2014 legislation.

TAKE ACTION

SB 236 will be heard in the the Senate Commerce and Tourism Committee on Monday April 17th, 2017 at 1:30 PM.

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Commerce and Tourism Committee and tell them to support SB 236, stop giving our taxpayer dollars to billionaire sports team owners

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Commerce and Tourism

   

Bill Montford

Montford.Bill@flsenate.gov

850-487-5003

George Gainer

Gainer.George@flsenate.gov

850-487-5002

Audrey Gibson

Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov

850-487-5006

Travis Hutson

Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov

850-487-5007

Jack Latvala

Latvala.Jack@flsenate.gov

850-487-5016

Kathleen Passidomo

Passidomo.Kathleen@flsenate.gov

850-487-5028

Jose Rodriguez

Rodriguez.Jose@flsenate.gov

850-487-5037

Dana Young

Young.Dana@flsenate.gov

850-487-5018

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event