Support SB188: Property rights are advanced when owners have the freedom to rent out their property as they so choose

Many property owners in Florida generate extra income by renting their homes to tourist vacationing in Florida. These types of rentals also help Florida’s tourism by allowing families to save money by staying together in a home instead of multiple hotel rooms. This flexibility promotes more tourism, which produces $67 billion in economic activity every year.

SB 188 prevents local governments from passing new regulations on vacation rentals based solely on their classification, while not affecting local homeowners’ associations and neighborhoods that have adopted their own covenants, declarations, or bylaws.

Local governments have exploited current rental laws with excessive fines, penalties and fees. SB 188 will safeguard property owners from overreaching local governments with state-wide standards that protect property rights.

TAKE ACTION

SB 188 will be heard in the Senate Community Affairs Committee on Monday April 17th, 2017 at 4:00 PM.

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Community Affairs Committee and tell them to support SB 188 to protect private property rights.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Community Affairs

   

Tom Lee

Lee.Tom@flsenate.gov

850-487-5020

Jeff Clemens

Clemens.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5031

Aaron Bean

Bean.Aaron@flsenate.gov

850-487-5004

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Daphne Campbell

Campbell.Daphne@flsenate.gov

850-487-5038

Keith Perry

Perry.Keith@flsenate.gov

850-487-5008

Jose Rodriguez

Rodriguez.Jose@flsenate.gov

850-487-5037

David Simmons

Simmons.David@flsenate.gov

850-487-5009

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event