Support SB1770: End the Slush Funds for Politicians

Under Florida law, local governments can designate areas as Community Redevelopment Areas (CRA). CRA’s are funded by property taxes and are charged with helping blighted neighborhoods. While the mission of a CRA is billed as anti-poverty measures, CRAs have been used to subsidize museums, concert halls, production studios and other pet projects of local political officials. CRAs are no longer being used for anti-poverty measures, but are now slush funds to reward political donors who fund elected official’s campaigns.

In 2016, a Miami-Dade County Grand Jury reported several abuses of a local CRA. Among the report’s findings they noted elected leaders rarely appoint civilians to boards so that, instead, elected leaders themselves can be in charge of the money. The report showed several examples of CRA boards spending large amounts of taxpayer dollars on what appeared to be pet projects of the elected officials.

SB 1770 will place tighter restrictions on CRAs and begin a phase out period for current CRAs.

TAKE ACTION

SB 1770 will be heard in the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development on Tuesday April 18th, 2017 at 1:30 PM.

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development and tell them to support SB 1770 and end the abuse of CRA's.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation Tourism and Economic Development

   

Jeff Brandes

Brandes.Jeff@flsenate.gov

850-487-5024

Bobby Powell

Powell.Bobby@flsenate.gov

850-487-5030

Frank Artiles

Artiles.Frank@flsenate.gov

850-487-5040

Lizbeth Benacquisto

Benacquisto.Lizbeth@flsenate.gov

850-487-5027

George Gainer

Gainer.George@flsenate.gov

850-487-5002

Audrey Gibson

Gibson.Audrey@flsenate.gov

850-487-5006

Kathleen Passidomo

Passidomo.Kathleen@flsenate.gov

850-487-5028

Kevin Rader

Rader.Kevin@flsenate.gov

850-487-5029

Wilton Simpson

Simpson.Wilton@flsenate.gov

850-487-5010

Perry Thurston

Thurston.Perry@flsenate.gov

850-487-5033

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event