Support HB 425-Property rights are advanced when owners have the freedom to rent out their property as they so choose

Many property owners in Florida generate extra income by renting their homes to tourist vacationing in Florida. These types of rentals also help Florida’s tourism by allowing families to save money by staying together in a home instead of multiple hotel rooms. This flexibility promotes more tourism, which produces $67 billion in economic activity every year.

HB 425 prevents local governments from passing new regulations on vacation rentals based solely on their classification, while not affecting local homeowners’ associations and neighborhoods that have adopted their own covenants, declarations, or bylaws.

Local governments have exploited current rental laws with excessive fines, penalties and fees. HB 425 will safeguard property owners from overreaching local governments with state-wide standards that protect property rights.

TAKE ACTION

HB 425 will be heard in the House Careers and Competition Subcommittee on Tuesday March 28th, 2017 at 8:00 AM

Call and e-mail the members of the House Careers and Competition Subcommittee and tell them to support HB 425 and protect our property rights.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Careers & Competition Subcommittee    
Halsey Beshears Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5007
Jay Trumbull Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5006
Loranne Ausley Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5009
Larry Ahern Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5066
Ramon Alexander Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5008
Randy Fine Randy.Fine@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5053
Julio Gonzalez Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5074
Joe Gruters Joe.Gruters@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5073
Roy Hardemon Roy.Hardemon@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5108
Shawn Harrison Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5063
Al Jacquet Al.Jacquet@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5088
Mike LaRosa Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5042
Alexandra Miller Alexandra.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5072
Paul Renner Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5024
David Silvers David.Silvers@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5087

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2017-03-27 17:34:08 -0400
    The only moral and right thing to do
  • commented 2017-03-27 11:35:41 -0400
    I’m afraid I’m going to have to disagree and oppose this bill. Our community has been a victim of this air B-N-B mentality. Out of state persons and or groups buying properties in the community for weekend rental has led to wild parties all hours of the night, invasion of neighboring properties and unauthorized vehicles and persons in common areas.

    First hand experience says this is a BAD bill and should be opposed
Donate Volunteer Find an Event