Support HB 13: End the Slush Funds for Politicians

Under Florida law, local governments can designate areas as Community Redevelopment Areas (CRA). CRA’s are funded by property taxes and are charged with helping blighted neighborhoods. While the mission of a CRA is billed as anti-poverty measures, CRAs have been used to subsidize museums, concert halls, production studios and other pet projects of local political officials. CRAs are no longer being used for anti-poverty measures, but are now slush funds to reward political donors who fund elected official’s campaigns.

In 2016, a Miami-Dade County Grand Jury reported several abuses of a local CRA. Among the report’s findings they noted elected leaders rarely appoint civilians to boards so that, instead, elected leaders themselves can be in charge of the money. The report showed several examples of CRA boards spending large amounts of taxpayer dollars on what appeared to be pet projects of the elected officials.

HB 13 will place tighter restrictions on CRAs and begin a phase out period for current CRAs.

TAKE ACTION

HB 13 will be heard in the House Ways & Means Committee on Wednesday April 5th, 2017 at 9:00 AM

Call and e-mail the members of the House Ways & Means Committee and tell them to support HB 13 to end the abuse of Community Redevelopment Agencies.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Ways & Means Committee

   

Jim Boyd

Jim.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5071

Colleen Burton

Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5040

Joseph Abruzzo

Joseph.Abruzzo@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5081

Bruce Antone

Bruce.Antone@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5046

Loranne Ausley

Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5009

Halsey Beshears

Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5007

Matt Caldwell

Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5079

Robert Cortes

Robert.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5030

Jay Fant

Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5015

Joseph Geller

Joseph.Geller@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5100

Don Hahnfeldt

Don.Hahnfeldt@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5033

Al Jacquet

Al.Jacquet@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5088

Evan Jenne

Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5099

Mike LaRosa

Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5042

Stan McClain

Stan.McClain@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5023

Mike Miller

Mike.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5047

Kathleen Peters

Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5069

Cyndi Stevenson

Cyndi.Stevenson@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5017

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event