Support HB13: End the Slush Funds for Politicians

Under Florida law, local governments can designate areas as Community Redevelopment Areas (CRA). CRA’s are funded by property taxes and are charged with helping blighted neighborhoods. While the mission of a CRA is billed as anti-poverty measures, CRAs have been used to subsidize museums, concert halls, production studios and other pet projects of local political officials. CRAs are no longer being used for anti-poverty measures, but are now slush funds to reward political donors who fund elected official’s campaigns.

In 2016, a Miami-Dade County Grand Jury reported several abuses of a local CRA. Among the report’s findings they noted elected leaders rarely appoint civilians to boards so that, instead, elected leaders themselves can be in charge of the money. The report showed several examples of CRA boards spending large amounts of taxpayer dollars on what appeared to be pet projects of the elected officials.

HB 13 will place tighter restrictions on CRAs and begin a phase out period for current CRAs.

TAKE ACTION

HB 13 will be heard in the House Government Accountability Committee on Wednesday April 19th, 2017 at 8:00 AM.

Call and e-mail the members of the House Government Accountability Committee and tell them to support HB 13 to end the abuse of Community Redevelopment Agencies.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Name/Committee

Email

Phone

Government Accountability Committee

   

Matt Caldwell

Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5079

Charlie Stone

Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5022

Barbara Watson

Barbara.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5107

Joseph Abruzzo

Joseph.Abruzzo@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5081

Ben Albritton

Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5056

Colleen Burton

Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5040

Neil Combee

Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5039

Brad Drake

Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5005

Jay Fant

Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5015

Patrick Henry

Patrick.Henry@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5026

Kristin Jacobs

Kristin.Jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5096

Chris Latvala

Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5067

Amber Mariano

Amber.Mariano@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5036

Wengay Newton

Newt.Newton@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5070

Cary Pigman

Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5055

Scott Plakon

Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5029

Holly Raschein

Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5120

Daniel Raulerson

Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5058

Bob Rommel

Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5106

David Santiago

David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5027

Carlos Smith

Carlos.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5049

Clovis Watson

Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5020

Matt Willhite

Matt.Willhite@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5086

Jayer Williamson

Jayer.Williamson@myfloridahouse.gov

850-717-5003

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event