Support Direct Care and Give Patients a Real Choice

HB 161 Specifies that direct primary care agreement does not constitute insurance & is not subject to Florida Insurance Code

HB 161 provides that a direct primary agreement and the act of entering into such an agreement are not insurance and not subject to regulation under the Florida Insurance Code and exempts a primary care provider, which includes a primary care group practice, or his or her agent, from any certification or license requirements in the Code for marketing, selling, or offering to sell an agreement.

These direct patient/doctor agreements allow a system uncontrolled by government regulations to develop. It makes doctors responsive to patients, not insurance company bureaucrats or government rule-makers. Because government bureaucrats do not like anything they can’t regulate and control, and big insurance companies do not like competition, there are attempts to define Direct Primary Care agreements as a form of insurance that would be under a mountain of regulations and bureaucratic red tape.

HB 161 would protect direct patient/doctor agreements from burdensome government regulations and represents a first step toward real healthcare freedom in Florida.

HB 161 will be heard in the House Health Innovation Subcommittee on Wednesday February 15th, 2017 at 3:30 PM.

TAKE ACTION

Call and e-mail the members of the House Health Innovation Subcommittee and tell them to support HB 161 to keep government out of our healthcare decisions.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

MaryLynn Magar MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5082
Shawn Harrison Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5063
Robert Cortes Robert.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5030
Daisy Baez Daisy.Baez@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5114
Manny Diaz Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5103
Brad Drake Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5005
Nicholas Duran Nicholas.Duran@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5112
Roy Hardemon Roy.Hardemon@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5108
Patrick Henry Patrick.Henry@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5026
Sam Killebrew Sam.Killebrew@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5041
Paul Renner Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5024
Bob Rommel Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5106
Jackie Toledo Jackie.Toledo@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5060
Jay Trumbull Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5006
Frank White Frank.White@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5002

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event