TAKE ACTION Stop picking winners and losers and wasting taxpayer money-Support HB 7005

HB 7005 will be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Tuesday February 21st, 2017.

HB 7005 will eliminate the state’s economic incentive programs, such as Enterprise Florida and Visit Florida. Enterprise Florida is the public-private partnership that works under a contract with the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity to implement these failed programs.

The term “economic incentives” is misleading, economists refer to “economic incentive programs” as “corporate welfare”. Corporate Welfare is the policy of granting special privileges to selected hand-picked companies, which gives them an advantage over their competitors and creates an uneven playing field.

Benefiting from this system, of course, are those businesses with the most lobbyist and campaign contributions, along with the politicians claiming they are "creating jobs" as they dispense their political favors.

What is worse, many of these subsidized businesses never create the jobs they promised and many have gone bankrupt. State economist say 70 percent of Florida’s incentive programs are losing money.

The Florida legislature instead should look to minimize government influence in the marketplace, by reducing regulatory, business and professional fees and permits, as well as lowering taxes for all businesses, not just the well-connected companies with an army of lobbyist.


HB 7005 will be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Tuesday February 21st, 2017.

Call and e-mail the members of the House Appropriations Committee and tell them to support the elimination of Enterprise Florida and to stop using taxpayer’s money for failed corporate welfare programs.


Appropriations Committee    
Carlos Trujillo Carlos.Trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5105
George Moraitis George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5093
Jared Moskowitz Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5097
Larry Ahern Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5066
Ben Albritton Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5056
Lori Berman Lori.Berman@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5090
Michael Bileca Michael.Bileca@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5115
Jason Brodeur Jason.Brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5028
Janet Cruz Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5062
Travis Cummings Travis.Cummings@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5018
Jose Diaz Jose.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5116
Manny Diaz Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5103
Bobby DuBose Bobby.DuBose@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5094
Katie Edwards Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5098
Bill Hager Bill.Hager@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5089
Blaise Ingoglia Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5035
Clay Ingram Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5001
Shevrin Jones Shevrin.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5101
Kionne McGhee Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5117
Larry Metz Larry.Metz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5032
Jeanette Nunez Jeanette.Nunez@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5119
Jose Oliva Jose.Oliva@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5110
Elizabeth Porter Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5010
Holly Raschein Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5120
David Richardson David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5113
Ray Rodrigues Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5076
Chris Sprowls Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5065
Cynthia Stafford Cynthia.Stafford@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5109
Richard Stark Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5104
Charlie Stone Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5022

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event