TAKE ACTION: SB 168 (Red Light Camera repeal) will be heard on Thursday Feb 4th

The House is moving HB 4027 to repeal Red Light Cameras and now we have our chance in the Senate! SB 168 will be heard in the Senate Transportation Committee at 9:00 AM this Thursday, February 4th, 2016. SB 168 will repeal the use of traffic infraction devices, including the use of red light cameras.

We know that red light cameras are used only to increase revenue for local governments. They are not there to increase public safety. Notoriously, cities that lose money on the traffic infraction detectors invariably cancel their contracts and stop using them. It is blatantly evident that red light cameras are solely revenue generation tools at the expense of public safety.

Instead of increasing the duration of yellow lights at traffic intersections, which has proved to save lives, the Florida Department of Transportation deliberately changed the state policy to reduce yellow light intervals to below federal recommendations. This substantially increased revenue from violations while increasing the risk to public safety. To make matters worse, Red Flex Traffic Solutions corporate officers have even been arrested and convicted for bribing local government officials to support installation of red light cameras.

You can help put an end to the corruption, pay-offs and extortion surrounding the use of red light cameras. SB 168 will be heard this Thursday, February 4th, 2016 at 9:00 PM in the Senate Transportation Committee.

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the Senate Transportation Committee and tell them to support SB 168

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Brandes, Jeff 850-487-5022 brandes.jeff.web@flsenate.gov
Braynon, Oscar , II 850-487-5036 braynon.oscar.web@flsenate.gov
Evers, Greg 850-487-5002 evers.greg.web@flsenate.gov
Grimsley, Denise 850-487-5021 grimsley.denise.web@flsenate.gov
Simpson, Wilton 850-487-5018 simpson.wilton.web@flsenate.gov
Thompson, Geraldine F. "Geri" 850-487-5012 thompson.geraldine.web@flsenate.gov
Bullard, Dwight 850-487-5039

bullard.dwight.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

Please consider making a donation today and help us continue to send our team to Tallahassee

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2016-02-02 10:12:58 -0500
Donate Volunteer Find an Event