Protect your assets and help us stop policing for profit. Currently your assets can be seized without an arrest or conviction.

PropertyRights.png

SB 1044 prohibits forfeiture under Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act from being final until owner of seized property is convicted of criminal act that renders property contraband article. Most Floridians are unaware that assets may be seized absent of the owner being charged with a crime and possession may be permanently transferred without a conviction.

Law enforcement agencies may confiscate any property they allege is connected to a crime. Cash, cars, real estate, boats and other possessions may be seized and forfeited to the agency without a conviction. Florida scored a pathetic D+ rating on civil asset forfeiture according to a 2010 “Policing for Profit” nationwide study by the Institute for Injustice (a non-profit national advocacy law firm).

Civil forfeiture has become a revenue generation tool used by police to fund their own coffers. James Madison wrote that “Government is instituted to protect property of every sort". The use of Asset Forfeiture flies in the face of "due process" and the protections of private property guaranteed in the Constitution.

SB 1044 will be heard in the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice on Thursday February 11th, 2016 at 10:00 AM

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice and tell them to support SB 1044.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Bradley, Rob 850-487-5007 bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov
Evers, Greg 850-487-5002 evers.greg.web@flsenate.gov
Flores, Anitere 850-487-5037 flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov
Joyner, Arthenia L. 850-487-5019 joyner.arthenia.web@flsenate.gov
Negron, Joe 850-487-5032 negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov
Soto, Darren 850-487-5014 soto.darren.web@flsenate.gov
Hutson, Travis 850-487-5006 hutson.travis.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

Help make sure liberty has a voice in Tallahassee. Donate to the Liberty First Network TODAY

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event