November 30th Legislative Update (TAKE ACTION)

Tallahassee Legislative Alert

November 30th, 2015

(1 ACTION ALERT IN THIS MESSAGE)

Call to Action to rein in career politicians in Washington DC.

SM 630/HM 417 Term Limits

On Thursday, December 3rd, SM 630 will be heard in the Senate Rules Committee and the House companion bill, HM 417, will be heard in the House Local & Federal Affairs Committee. SM 630/HM 417 is an application to Congress to call a convention of states under Article V of the Constitution of the United States. The sole agenda of the convention shall be to propose an amendment to the U.S. Constitution to set term limits to individuals elected to the U.S. Senate and the House of Representatives. In total, 34 state legislatures must pass the same application to mandate Congress to call a convention for term limits. After which, 38 states need to approve the amendment in order for it to be ratified.

Washington DC is badly broken. Congress does not listen to its constituents. Incumbents have a distinct advantage because their campaigns are financed by big money “special interests.” Principled citizens who want to run for Congress do not have a chance to win. The entrenched bureaucracy must be broken through implementation of term limits. Congress will never relinquish their own stranglehold on power. It is up to us take control and force the issue.

The Founders, with their infinite wisdom and foresight, bestowed upon us the ability to convene the amendment-by-convention. They predicted there would be times when the interests of the Congress and that of the states and the people would conflict. Florida law, as well as laws in other states, prohibit convention delegates from proposing or ratifying any amendment other than the specific issue addressed in the convention memorial. After a term limits amendment is passed by the convention, it must be ratified by 38 states.

CALL TO ACTION

SM 630 will be heard in the Senate Rules Committee Thursday, December 3rd at 1:00 PM

Please call and e-mail the members of the Senate Rules Committee and tell them to support SM 630.

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Benacquisto, Lizbeth 850-487-5030 benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov 
Diaz de la Portilla, Miguel 850-487-5040 portilla.miguel.web@flsenate.gov 
Gaetz, Don 850-487-5001 gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov 
Galvano, Bill 850-487-5026 galvano.bill.web@flsenate.gov
Gibson, Audrey 850-487-5009 gibson.audrey.web@flsenate.gov
Joyner, Arthenia L. 850-487-5019 joyner.arthenia.web@flsenate.gov
Latvala, Jack 850-487-5020 latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov
Lee, Tom 850-487-5024 lee.tom.web@flsenate.gov
Montford, Bill 850-487-5003 montford.bill.web@flsenate.gov
Negron, Joe 850-487-5032 negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov
Richter, Garrett 850-487-5023 richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov
Simmons, David 850-487-5010 simmons.david.web@flsenate.gov
Soto, Darren 850-487-5014 soto.darren.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

HM 417 will be heard in the House Local & Federal Affairs Committee Thursday, December 3rd at 1:00 PM

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Local & Federal Affairs Committee and tell them to support HM 417.

Full name Phone Number E-Mail
Ahern, Larry (850) 717-5066 larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov
Baxley, Dennis K. (850) 717-5023 dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov
Broxson, Doug (850) 717-5003 doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov
Burgess , Jr., Daniel Wright "Danny" (850) 717-5038 danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov
Campbell, Daphne D. (850) 717-5108 daphne.campbell@myfloridahouse.gov
Combee, Neil (850) 717-5039 neil.combee@myfloridahouse.gov
DuBose, Bobby B (850) 717-5094 bobby.dubose@myfloridahouse.gov
Eisnaugle, Eric (850) 717-5044 eric.eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov
Walter Bryan "Mike" Hill (850) 717-5002 mike.hill@myfloridahouse.gov
Jacobs, Kristin (850) 717-5096 kristin.jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov
Mayfield, Debbie (850) 717-5054 debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
McGhee, Kionne L. (850) 717-5117 kionne.mcghee@myfloridahouse.gov
Pritchett, Sharon (850) 717-5102 sharon.pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov
Rader, Kevin (850) 717-5081 kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov
Ray, Lake (850) 717-5012 lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov
Santiago, David (850) 717-5027 david.santiago@myfloridahouse.gov
Smith, Jimmie T. (850) 717-5034 jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov
Van Zant, Charles E. (850) 717-5019 charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

 

These are very important weeks for the Liberty First Network to be up in Tallahassee. In order to do that we need your financial support right away. Each week can cost over $600 in lodging, food and supplies. If you want to make sure that liberty is represented then we need your donation TODAY!!!!!

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event