November 16th Legislative Update (TAKE ACTION)

Tallahassee Legislative Alert

November 16, 2015

(3 ACTION ALERTS IN THIS MESSAGE)

Call to action to protect our right to bear arms and a call to action to reign in career politicians in Washington DC.

HB 163 Open Carry

On Wednesday November 18th HB 163 Open Carry bill will be heard in the House Justice Appropriations Subcommittee. HB 163 provides that a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm or weapon may also openly carry such firearm or weapon.

45 states allow “Open Carry”, Florida is one of only five states that prohibit open carry: California, Florida, Illinois, New York, and South Carolina. It is time for Florida to separate from New York, California and Illinois and join the rest of the country to recognize our natural right to defend ourselves and that bearing Arms is a right that cannot be infringed upon in the Second Amendment to the US Constitution.

Open Carry creates more of a deterrent to criminals, just carrying a concealed weapon does not alert a criminal that you have a firearm. Many studies report criminals will avoid an armed person or home when selecting a victim.

HB 163 has already passed its first committee stop and the anti-gun groups are gearing up to stop HB 163 next week. We need to make sure the members of House Justice Appropriations Subcommittee hear from us that cherish our right to self-protection.

According to the Department of Justice 2012 report; Murder rates are 5% higher in non-open carry states, Aggravated assault rates are 23% higher in non-open carry states, Violent crime rates are 23% higher in non-open carry states and Robbery rates are 36% higher in non-open carry states

CALL TO ACTION

The House Open Carry bill, HB 163 will be heard in the House Justice Appropriations Subcommittee next Wednesday November 18, 2015 at 1:00AM.

Please call and e-mail the following members of the House Justice Appropriations Subcommittee and tell them to support HB 163.

Ahern, Larry

(850) 717-5066

larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov

Burgess, Daniel

(850) 717-5038

danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov

Eisnaugle, Eric

(850) 717-5044

eric.eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov

Latvala, Chris

(850) 717-5067

chris.latvala@myfloridahouse.gov

McGhee, Kionne

(850) 717-5117

kionne.mcghee@myfloridahouse.gov

Metz, Larry

(850) 717-5032

larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov

Miller, Mike

(850) 717-5047

mike.miller@myfloridahouse.gov

Peters, Kathleen

(850) 717-5069

kathleen.peters@myfloridahouse.gov

Pritchett, Sharon

(850) 717-5102

sharon.pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov

Rodríguez, José

(850) 717-5112

jose.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov

Rouson, Darryl

(850) 717-5070

darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov

Spano, Ross

(850) 717-5059

ross.spano@myfloridahouse.gov

Trujillo, Carlos

(850) 717-5105

carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO E-MAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

These are very important weeks for the Liberty First Network to be up in Tallahassee. In order to do that we need your financial support right away. Each week can cost over $600 in lodging, food and supplies. If you want to make sure that liberty is represented then we your donation TODAY!!!!!

 

HB 4001 Campus Carry

On Thursday November 19th, HB 4001 Campus Carry bill will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee. HB 4001 will repeal the law that prohibits citizens with a concealed weapons permit from carrying their weapon on Florida Campuses.

Our Colleges and Universities are now "Gun Free Zones" and there is no one entry point with metal detectors and armed guards performing pat-downs and bag inspections. Colleges cannot guarantee safety and should not deprive people of the ability to protect themselves. Despite unproven claims from the anti-gun rights groups, eight States have “Campus Carry” including Utah for the last ten years and Utah University officials report no improper incidents on campus in that 10 year time period.

HB 4001 has already passed two committees and The Judiciary Committee will be the last committee stop before being ready to be voted on the floor of the House of Representatives in January. Unfortunately many Law Enforcement Agencies and other anti-gun rights groups are pulling out all the stops by continuing to spread false and unproven claims. Let's make sure that the members of the House Judiciary Committee hear from those of us that will not let our freedoms and liberties be violated.

CALL TO ACTION

The House Campus Carry bill HB 4001 will be heard in the Judiciary Committee next Thursday, November 19, 2015 9:00 AM.

Please call and e-mail the following members of the House Judiciary Committee and tell them to vote yes on HB 4001.

Burton, Colleen

(850) 717-5040

colleen.burton@myfloridahouse.gov

Dudley, Dwight

(850) 717-5068

dwight.dudley@myfloridahouse.gov

Edwards, Katie A.

(850) 717-5098

katie.edwards@myfloridahouse.gov

Fant, Jay

(850) 717-5015

jay.fant@myfloridahouse.gov

Gonzalez, Julio

(850) 717-5074

julio.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov

Harrell, Gayle B.

(850) 717-5083

gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov

Hudson, Matt

(850) 717-5080

matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov

Kerner, Dave

(850) 717-5087

dave.kerner@myfloridahouse.gov

McBurney, Charles

(850) 717-5016

charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov

Metz, Larry

(850) 717-5032

larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov

Moskowitz, Jared Evan

(850) 717-5097

jared.moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov

Passidomo, Kathleen C.

(850) 717-5106

kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov

Plakon, Scott

(850) 717-5029

scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

Rehwinkel Vasilinda, Michelle

(850) 717-5009

michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov

Rodríguez, José Javier

(850) 717-5112

jose.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov

Stone, Charlie

(850) 717-5022

charlie.stone@myfloridahouse.gov

Trujillo, Carlos

(850) 717-5105

carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov

Wood, John

(850) 717-5041

john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

These are very important weeks for the Liberty First Network to be up in Tallahassee. In order to do that we need your financial support right away. Each week can cost over $600 in lodging, food and supplies. If you want to make sure that liberty is represented then we your donation TODAY!!!!!

 

SM 630 Term Limits

On Tuesday November 17th, SM 630 will be heard in the Senate Ethics and Elections Committee. SM 630 is an Application to Congress to call a convention under Article V of the Constitution of the United States with the sole agenda of proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States to set a limit on the number of terms that a person may be elected as a member of the United States House of Representatives and to set a limit on the number of terms that a person may be elected as a member of the United States Senate.

Washington DC is badly broken and we have a Congress that does not listen to the voters. Incumbent’s campaigns are financed by big money “special interests” and principled citizens wanting to run for Congress do not have a chance to win. We need to break the entrenched bureaucracy by having term limits on Congress. The problem is Congress will never relinquish their stranglehold on power and it is up to us take control.

SM 630 would create an application by the Florida Legislature under Article V of the U.S. Constitution, calling for a single-issue amendment convention limited to the agenda of congressional term limits. 34 state legislatures must pass the same application to mandate Congress to call a convention for term limits.

The Founders created the amendment-by-convention because they believed there would be times when the interests of the Congress and that of the states and the people would conflict.  Florida law, as well as laws in other states, prohibit convention delegates from proposing or ratifying anything other than the issue specified in the convention call. When a term limits amendment is passed by the convention, it then would have to be ratified by 38 states.

CALL TO ACTION

SM 630 will be heard in the Senate Ethics and Elections Committee next Tuesday, November 17, 2015 at 3:30PM.

Please call and e-mail the members of the Senate Ethic and Elections Committee and tell them to support SM 630.

Braynon, Oscar

850-487-5036

braynon.oscar.web@flsenate.gov

Clemens, Jeff

850-487-5027

clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov

Flores, Anitere

850-487-5037

flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov

Gaetz, Don

850-487-5001

gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov

Hays, Alan

850-487-5011

hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov

Legg, John

850-487-5017

legg.john.web@flsenate.gov

Negron, Joe

850-487-5032

negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov

Richter, Garrett

850-487-5023

richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov

Smith, Christopher

850-487-5031

smith.chris.web@flsenate.gov

Thompson, Geraldine

850-487-5012

thompson.geraldine.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO E-MAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

 

These are very important weeks for the Liberty First Network to be up in Tallahassee. In order to do that we need your financial support right away. Each week can cost over $600 in lodging, food and supplies. If you want to make sure that liberty is represented then we your donation TODAY!!!!!

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event