Keep the Momentum Going on Repealing Red Light Cameras

Tallahassee Legislative Alert

February 15th, 2016

(2 ACTION ALERTS IN THIS MESSAGE)

Call to action to repeal the use of red light cameras in the State of Florida

HB 4027

Representative Richard Corcoran, Chair of the House Appropriations Committee scheduled HB 4027 for this Tuesday February 16th, 2016 at 3:00 PM. The House Appropriations Committee is the last committee stop before going to the floor for a full House vote. Passing HB 4027 is crucial so we can focus our efforts on the Senate side.

HB 4027 will repeal the use of traffic infraction devices, including the use of red light cameras. We know that red light cameras are used only to increase revenue for local governments. They are not there to increase public safety. Notoriously, cities that lose money on the traffic infraction detectors invariably cancel their contracts and stop using them. It is blatantly evident that red light cameras are solely revenue generation tools at the expense of public safety. Instead of increasing the duration of yellow lights at traffic intersections, which has proved to save lives, the Florida Department of Transportation deliberately changed the state policy to reduce yellow light intervals to below federal recommendations. This substantially increased revenue from violations while increasing the risk to public safety. To make matters worse, Red Flex Traffic Solutions corporate officers have even been arrested and convicted for bribing local government officials to support installation of red light cameras.

You can help put an end to the corruption, pay-offs and extortion surrounding the use of red light cameras.

HB 4027 will be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Tuesday February 16th, 2016 at 3:00 PM

TAKE ACTION

Please call and e-mail the members of the House Appropriations Committee and tell them to support HB 4027.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full name Phone Number E-Mail
Albritton, Ben (850) 717-5056 ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov
Boyd, Jim (850) 717-5071 jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Clarke-Reed, Gwyndolen "Gwyn" (850) 717-5092 gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov
Corcoran, Richard (850) 717-5037 richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov
Cruz, Janet (850) 717-5062 janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov
Fresen, Erik (850) 717-5114 erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov
Hudson, Matt (850) 717-5080 matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Ingram, Clay (850) 717-5001 clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
Jones, Mia L. (850) 717-5014 mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov
McBurney, Charles (850) 717-5016 charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov
Metz, Larry (850) 717-5032 larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov
Nuñez, Jeanette M. (850) 717-5119 jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov
Oliva, Jose R. (850) 717-5110 jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov
O'Toole, H. Marlene (850) 717-5033 marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov
Pafford, Mark S. (850) 717-5086 mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Porter, Elizabeth W. (850) 717-5010 elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Rader, Kevin (850) 717-5081 kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov
Raschein, Holly (850) 717-5120 holly.raschein@myfloridahouse.gov
Richardson, David (850) 717-5113 david.richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
Roberson, Kenneth L. "Ken" (850) 717-5075 ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rouson, Darryl Ervin (850) 717-5070 darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov
Stafford, Cynthia A. (850) 717-5109 cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Steube, W. Gregory "Greg" (850) 717-5073 greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov
Williams, Alan B. (850) 717-5008 alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Wood, John (850) 717-5041 john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov
Young, Dana D. (850) 717-5060 dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov
Adkins, Janet (850) 717-5011 janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov
Moraitis, Jr., George R. (850) 717-5093 george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

SB 168

SB 168, the Senate bill to repeal Red Light Cameras passed the Senate Transportation Committee on February 4th and has two more Committee stops. It is the next Committee stop for SB 168 that we fear may run into trouble, which is the Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development chaired by Senator Jack Latvala.

Senator Latvala has been a vocal supporter of keeping Red Light Cameras and may use his discretion as the Committee Chairman to bury SB 168 and never let it be heard in his Committee. This effectively kills the chance to repeal Red Light Cameras this Session.

If we want SB 168 to be heard in his Committee we must make the phone calls and e-mails to Senator Latvala. If he supports keeping Red Light Cameras, then he can speak and vote in opposition to this bill. It is blatantly unfair to the millions of Floridians who want to see the cameras taken down not to have this bill debated and voted up or down.

TAKE ACTION

We have momentum to repeal Red Light Cameras, let's not rest now, this is too important.

Contact Senator Jack Latvala and ask him to schedule SB 168 on the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development Agenda

Senator Jack Latvala

Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development

Tallahassee Number: (850) 487-5020

District Office Number: (727) 793-2797

E-Mail: latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov

 

The Liberty First Network is working hard in Tallahassee to make sure that the liberties of the citizens of Florida are being protected. We cannot continue to do this without your support. Please make a donation TODAY and help us make sure that Liberty is represented in Tallahassee.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event