Keep the Momentum Going on Direct Care and Give Patients a Real Choice

Tallahassee Legislative Alert

February 16th, 2016

(1 ACTION ALERT IN THIS MESSAGE)

Specifies that direct primary care agreement does not constitute insurance & is not subject to Florida Insurance Code

SB 132 provides that a direct primary agreement and the act of entering into such an agreement are not insurance and not subject to regulation under the Florida Insurance Code and exempts a primary care provider, which includes a primary care group practice, or his or her agent, from any certification or license requirements in the Code for marketing, selling, or offering to sell an agreement.

These direct patient/doctor agreements allow a system uncontrolled by government regulations to develop. It makes doctors responsive to patients, not insurance company bureaucrats or government rule-makers. Because government bureaucrats do not like anything they can’t regulate and control, and big insurance companies do not like competition, there are attempts to define Direct Primary Care agreements as a form of insurance that would be under a mountain of regulations and bureaucratic red tape.

SB 132 would protect direct patient/doctor agreements from burdensome government regulations and represents a first step toward real healthcare freedom in Florida. This is the last committee stop for SB 132 and with the House companion bill (HB 37 ) ready to pass the House, we are close to passing this important legislation.

SB 132 will be heard in the Senate Fiscal Policy Committee on Wednesday February 17th, 2016 at 4:00 PM

TAKE ACTION

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Fiscal Policy Committee and tell them to support SB 132 to keep government out our healthcare decisions.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Abruzzo, Joseph 850-487-5025 abruzzo.joseph.web@flsenate.gov
Bean, Aaron 850-487-5004 bean.aaron.web@flsenate.gov
Bradley, Rob 850-487-5007 bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov
Clemens, Jeff 850-487-5027 clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov
Flores, Anitere 850-487-5037 flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov
Hays, Alan 850-487-5011 hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov
Hukill, Dorothy L. 850-487-5008 hukill.dorothy.web@flsenate.gov
Legg, John 850-487-5017 legg.john.web@flsenate.gov
Margolis, Gwen 850-487-5035 margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov
Sachs, Maria Lorts 850-487-5034 sachs.maria.web@flsenate.gov
Stargel, Kelli 850-487-5015 stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

These are very important weeks for the Liberty First Network to be up in Tallahassee. In order to do that we need your financial support right away. Each week can cost over $600 in lodging, food and supplies. If you want to make sure that liberty is represented then we need your donation TODAY!!!!!

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event