Hold Judges Accountable-Support HJR 1

Currently, the Florida Supreme Court justices and Appellate Court judges are appointed by the Governor and only face a merit retention system where citizens vote yes or no on the judge every six years. This merit retention system has failed to hold judges accountable and no judge has ever been ousted in a merit retention vote. Because judges know once appointed, they will never be voted out in a merit retention vote, they are free to push their political agenda in irreversible ways that affect the everyday lives of Floridians.

HJR 1 would "return the power to the people" by placing a 12-year cap on Florida’s state appellate and Supreme Court judges. A 12-year cap at the high court would place limits on the most powerful, least accountable branch of Florida government, increase the rotation of judges serving and broaden the pool of potential nominees – all positive outcomes.

HJR 1 would ask the state’s voters to approve a 12-year term limit for all Supreme Court justices and appeals court judges. If passed by the Florida Legislature, it would go before voters in 2018.

TAKE ACTION

HJR 1 will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee on Tuesday February 21st at 4:00 PM.

Call and e-mail the members of the House Judiciary Committee and tell them to support HJR 1 to bring accountability to our court system.

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Judiciary Committee    
Chris Sprowls Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5065
Ross Spano Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5059
Cynthia Stafford Cynthia.Stafford@myfloridahouse.gov  850-717-5109
Ramon Alexander Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov  850-717-5008
Daniel Burgess danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5038
John Cortes John.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5043
Ben Diamond Ben.Diamond@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5068
Jay Fant Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5015
Heather Fitzenhagen Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5078
Joseph Geller Joseph.Geller@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5100
Julio Gonzalez Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5074
Erin Grall Erin.Grall@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5054
Bill Hager Bill.Hager@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5089
Shawn Harrison Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5063
Larry Metz Larry.Metz@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5032
George Moraitis George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5093
Scott Plakon Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5029
Sharon Pritchett Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5102

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Donate Volunteer Find an Event