Call TODAY to return the Commissioner of Education to an elected cabinet position

ccDisaster.jpg

SJR 942 would create an amendment to the Florida Constitution which would return the Commissioner of Education to an elected cabinet position. In order to pass a constitutional amendment, the proposal must be agreed upon by three-fifths of both chambers in the Florida Legislature and receive 60% voter approval in the 2016 general election.

We all know that Common Core has been a disaster for our education system here in Florida. Common Core was pushed upon us without any public discussion, legislative committee hearings or debate in the house and senate. It wasn’t until a huge public outcry from parents, students and teachers that the Florida Legislature took notice and held committee meetings on the subject. Unfortunately, Common Core was so entrenched by then, legislators lacked the courage to do the right thing and, for the most part, ignored our pleas.

So how did this happen? Well, unlike our elected local board of education, the Governor appoints the seven members of the State Board of Education. They, in turn, select the Commissioner of Education. You probably see where this is going. Layers of unelected bureaucrats make it difficult to hold anyone accountable for major decisions regarding the education of our children. The lack of transparency about how Common Core was implemented was disturbing. A policy decision such as this merits a thorough review and public discussion. Enough time should be given to allow parents and taxpayers to research proposals and formulate appropriate concerns. Our children’s education and the $20 billion budget for K-12 is too important not to be able to hold the Commissioner of Education accountable to the people.

SJR 942 will be heard in the Senate Ethics and Elections Committee for Tuesday February 2nd, 2016 at 4:00 PM

TAKE ACTION

Call and e-mail the members of the Senate Ethics and Elections Committee and tell them to support SJR 942 to return education accountability to the people!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Full Name Phone Number E-Mail
Braynon, Oscar , II 850-487-5036 braynon.oscar.web@flsenate.gov
Clemens, Jeff 850-487-5027 clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov
Flores, Anitere 850-487-5037 flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov
Gaetz, Don 850-487-5001 gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov
Hays, Alan 850-487-5011 hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov
Legg, John 850-487-5017 legg.john.web@flsenate.gov
Negron, Joe 850-487-5032 negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov
Richter, Garrett 850-487-5023 richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov
Smith, Christopher L. 850-487-5031 smith.chris.web@flsenate.gov
Thompson, Geraldine F. "Geri" 850-487-5012 thompson.geraldine.web@flsenate.gov

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ALL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

Make sure that liberty has a voice in Tallahassee and make a donation TODAY!!!

Log Your Call

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Volunteer Find an Event